A dozen states have now banned ivory sales

Vermont became the 12th state in the U.S. to ban ivory sales and trade within its borders.

Gov. Phil Scott signed legislation in October that prohibits the sale of ivory and other animal parts from 16 species. The species include cheetah, elephant, giraffe, hippopotamus, jaguar, leopard, lion, pangolin, ray, rhinoceros, sea turtle, shark, tiger and whales, among others.

The bill, which has some exemptions including musical instruments and antiques more than 100 years old, is part of an effort by advocates to curtail poaching of endangered species by limiting the market for their body parts.

In 2016, the U.S. passed a near total ban on commercial trade in African elephant ivory but states regulate commerce within their borders. The U.S. is one of the largest importers of wildlife products, including trophies of animals killed in hunts and products made from skins of endangered species.

Under the new law, violators will face fines up to $1,000 and 30 days in prison.

New Jersey was the first to ban the sale of ivory within state borders.